Where will life lead? The perspective of a 20-year-old

Life is up in the air right now. Other than school, nothing is concrete; I don’t know where my future will take me.

What I know right now is that I am a junior in college, studying Spanish, Journalism, and English. I know what I love to travel. I have been to 3 other countries, and will be returning to Spain this summer to study abroad in an exciting new city, Barcelona. I know that I love to write, edit, and design, and that I am dedicated to my role as the Co-Editor of my school newspaper, and that it is one of my top priorities.

I know that as a 20-year-old, I have a lot of decisions to make. Do I continue to grad school? What would I study? Should I make an attempt to make it in the real world as a journalist? What career path do I want to follow?

I know that I have a passion for journalism, for getting the truth out to the public. Right now, my audience is only my college. But I want to impact a larger amount of people. I know that people deserve to know the truth.

I also have a passion for community service and helping others, and working with children. Do I want to go abroad and teach English? Stay in America and teach Spanish or ESL?

I have a dream to be an international correspondent, to go abroad and report to the US about what is going on, to experience new cultures and inform others about them.

But I think about the reality of my dream and what steps I need to take to get there, and I wonder if my dream can be a reality.

I think of other questions in my head, as well. Who will I marry, or will I ever marry? Once I get a job, where will I live? Where do I want to live? How far am I willing to go away from my family, the ones who have such confidence in me and my aspirations?

I know that the decisions I make in the next year, the next 5 years, and even the next 10 years, determine the path I take in my life.  As a person who hates making decisions, the idea that one decision could change everything scares the hell out of me.

I will make the decision about which place I want to intern this fall. Could the internship I choose determine if I have a job once I graduate college? Will it lead me in the right direction as an aspiring journalist?

How do I choose what to do after graduation next year? Where do I want to go to grad school, what do I want to study? Do I wait for grad school? Simple decisions like these could change my career path, and even my life path.

Our generation has a lot of decisions to make. Social media influences these decisions, as well. You can find a job on LinkedIn, but your Facebook profile can prevent you from being hired. One simple post could change your future if you are not careful.

While the young look up to their older siblings and cousins, and the old look back on the good old days of college and their young 20s, no one truly realizes what we as college students are facing. We are facing life-changing decisions. And while some are not worried, many of us are, and I for one wish I could peek into a crystal ball and know where my future will take me. But we must all leave our future into the hands of fate, and hope the decisions we make as young, naive college students allows for a successful future.

Leave a Reply

