The last few days

I don’t think it’s completely hit me yet that in only a matter of days, I will be saying good-bye to my parents and boarding my flight that will take me to the other side of the world. I will be arriving in Barcelona Monday morning, ready to start my summer journey, and am more than looking forward to just taking it all in and experiencing a new culture. I will first meet the school staff and the peers that I am sharing this journey with. The following day, I will meet the family that I will be living with for the next seven weeks.

The nerves are beginning to hit me, but it won’t be until I am sitting on the night flight to Barcelona that it will truly feel real. But, I am definitely excited and anxious to leave and see what adventures await me in Spain.

Of course, I am not packed yet. I have things thrown around here and there in bags and baskets. But, as a true college procrastinator, and a procrastinator for really my entire life, I will probably not be ready to go until Sunday morning. I was more focused on other tasks, like converting my money into Euros, buying odds and ends that I still needed, getting my new camera ready for my documentary photography class, and printing out just about every document and address I could ever need while I’m away.

And of course, spending as much time as I can with my friends and family before I leave. I know, it’s only seven weeks. I’ve been away at school for longer periods of time. But try telling them that. I love my family to death, and I still cannot thank them enough for their support over the years and for allowing me to take this journey in my life. But I also know that every second I am away, they will never stop thinking about me.

I think not being able to text or call anytime I want to is going to be the hard part. Not just for me, but for them, too. I will only be able to send a text or email when I have WiFi, and the time difference of six hours will not help either. But, luckily, we live in a world full of technology, and they can read my blog and view photos on Facebook even when our schedules are completely different.

Thank you to everyone who has supported me thus far in my life, and especially during my college years. I cannot count how many people have encouraged me, given me advice, or was just there for me when I needed someone. To be able to go to Spain for the second time in college is truly amazing, and I could not have done it without the support of others.

Muchas gracias.

Leave a Reply

