A glance at my first day in Barcelona

Image

The last 24 hours or so have been a bit of a blur. I left Pittsburgh at 9:30 a.m. EST and arrived in Barcelona this morning around 10 a.m. (so around 4 a.m. EST) because of our delay last night on the runway. Since I have traveled to Spain before, I was well aware of jet lag and tried to sleep on the plane as much as I could, but sleeping on a plane is easier said than done.

As soon as I got to the hotel, I took a shower, let my family know I arrived safely, and took a nap. I didn’t even care that I was hungry, I needed to get some rest! We had free time until 5:30 so I had time to shower, sleep, get ready, and grab a quick bite to eat. I walked down the street to a café, where I bought a small sandwich and a café con leche. I love the coffee here, since it is prepared differently. I forgot how much I missed it!

We got back together with our group and walked to the Arcadia center, a very close walk from the hotel. We had a brief orientation session and learned about the culture and way of living here, as well as how to protect ourselves from being pick pocketed. I didn’t realize how serious it was in Barcelona, and tourists are huge targets. I will definitely keep my bag close to me at all times!

Finally, it was time for dinner, and we were all starving. We went to a place very close to our hotel with the entire group. The appetizers were, of course, delicious and included ham croquettes, ham and cheese, bread with tomatoes and oil, and tortilla (egg and potato). For dinner, I had chicken and french fries (there was the option of chicken, fish, or traditional sausage. I kept it safe for the first meal!). For dessert, I had flan, and it was very delicious!

Tomorrow is a much busier day, and we have a lot to do for orientation. I also get to meet my host family and see where I will be living for the next 7 weeks! I am nervous but also really excited. I am hoping it is a good placement!

Otherwise, I am glad that both myself and my luggage made it here safely. I am looking forward to going to bed to try and catch up on sleep and get used to this new schedule!

¡Buenas noches!

Leave a Reply

