A look at Week One of my new internship

The first week at my new internship has been very exciting. I had no idea what to expect at first, so I will definitely admit that I was nervous on the first day. I was afraid I would get lost, or that I wouldn’t like it, or be bored; a lot of crazy thoughts were running through my head Sunday night and Monday morning. Luckily, the office is conveniently located only about a 15 minute walk from the ferry (it’s a direct route, even my poor sense of direction couldn’t mislead me), in the financial district. I didn’t know how this area would compare to the hustle and bustle of Columbus Circle that I was used to last semester at my internship with Oprah Magazine in the Hearst Tower. As it turns out, there are a ton of cute little restaurants and eateries around here, too, and it is just as exciting as Columbus Circle (minus a bit of chaos).

So anyways, more about the actual internship. My official title is Communications Intern at Century 21 Stores. This is part of the corporate office at the NY Downtown store, and my office is actually attached to the store itself, which is very convenient. There are a lot of jobs that the communications department has. Overall, it is to keep all employees informed…this includes new or updated policies, special events or promos going on, etc. Policies are written and/or updated all of the time, because it is important that everyone is on the same page, from corporate to the employees working on the sales floor. Right now, it is a small company. But, if the company wants to grow and open stores in stores outside of the Tri-state area, policies and effective communication will ensure everyone knows what to do.

As an intern, I am learning a lot about how the company works and how information is communicated to each employee. We want to make sure everyone is getting the right information in a timely manner. Another component that I will be helping with is communication to the Spanish speaking population working at distribution centers. I have already started to translate some things into Spanish, and it is a very important step for the company.

Overall, Century 21 is known to be a great company to work for. I would definitely agree from what I have learned so far. Everyone works together and treats everyone equally. Everyone feels important because they are important, no matter what level they are at within the company.

I am very excited to be able to intern at C21 this semester. It is a crazy time in my life, but crazy in a good way. This last semester of college is the busiest, which is hard to believe. I want to finish strong and (hopefully) have a great job by the end of May. Hopefully the next 12 weeks don’t go by too quickly!

Leave a Reply

