Happy September! (And happy pumpkin season!)

Despite the hot temperatures, we are in fact in the month of September and are quickly approaching the fall. The month began with a flow of emails with pumpkin-themed recipes, and Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts kicking off the season as they do best — with pumpkin flavored coffee.  I, for one, love pumpkin-flavored-everything season, though I am worrisugar-pumpkin-11ed my attempts of eating healthier and losing weight may wander into a bit into the world of sugary-pumpkin goodness.

I have, already, started experimenting with healthy ways to eat (and, of course, drink) my favorite gourd. After looking through pages and pages of “healthy pumpkin recipes,” I decided to try my own pumpkin smoothie after a work out. My concoction included a mixture of pumpkin puree, plain Greek yogurt, a bit of vanilla protein powder, milk, a very ripe banana, cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice, and….coffee! I brewed some extra-strength coffee to include in the smoothie. For my first try, the smoothie turned out great. It didn’t have an overpowering taste of pumpkin, and I could actually hardly taste the coffee at all. I will definitely keep working to perfect this recipe!

I will also be on the search for a great pumpkin beer. I personally am not a huge fan of beer (I really only drink flavored beers, or stick to hard ciders), but I do love a good pumpkin beer that has a stronger pumpkin taste than beer taste. I’ll be sampling pumpkin beers at restaurants in hopes of finding one I like. (Tip: You can get beer samples for free! Just ask the bartender for a small sample to try.) I also prefer my pumpkin beers with a cinnamon-sugar rim around the glass. It enhances the sweetness and gives it a better flavor overall, in my opinion.

Okay, enough about pumpkin (for now!). I am going to try to stick to a stricter diet/workout routine, despite all the enticing pumpkin treats this season. Holidays and parties are my weakness so I’m trying to do good while there isn’t anything going on! I’m focusing on the mass amount of weddings next year as my motivation. The first is in February, then I have some time until the second wedding in June. There are four in total, one of which I am a bridesmaid for! Hopefully this helps me to steer away from sugar-filled pumpkin treats.

Enjoy the last few weeks of warm weather, and get ready for cool fall weather. It’s my favorite time of the year and I can’t wait to break out the two new pairs of boots I bought!

5 thoughts on “Happy September! (And happy pumpkin season!)

  1. Ahhh I have not had a pumpkin coffee yet, but I can’t wait! I’m starting a health and fitness accountability group on Facebook on Tuesday… would you like to join? It’s a bunch of supportive, motivated women (some just starting, some have been at it for awhile) sharing recipes, holding each other accountable, etc. It’s free. Let me know if you’d like to join us- we’d love to have you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

